Little square pops in my yard

The Spring morning sunlight has my yard popping with color

Please be sure to mouse over the photos to get the full effect — I love my theme but until the photos become active they are somewhat muted.

On clear mornings I enjoy watching the sun shine through the small bright leaves on this althea in my backyard.

On clear mornings I enjoy watching the sun shine through the small bright leaves on this althea in my backyard.

I would have never planted this ornamental plum myself (it was here when I moved in), but I have grown to love the variety of colors that it can appear based on lighting, season and time of day.

I would have never planted this ornamental plum myself (it was here when I moved in), but I have grown to love the variety of colors that it can appear based on lighting, season and time of day.

Here's a closeup of one of the althea leaves. Even the background has popping spheres of color!

Here’s a closeup of one of the althea leaves. Even the background has popping spheres of color!

What Texas Spring photo series would be complete without these. They may be used in photos a lot but the colors are still quite beautiful when one takes the time to look closely.

What Texas Spring photo series would be complete without these. They may be used in photos a lot but the color really is beautiful.

These dianthus (pinks) overwinter well and bloom profusely season after season. They are an incredibly dependable source of color.

These dianthus (pinks) overwinter well and bloom profusely season after season. They are an incredibly dependable source of color.

We planted this coral honeysuckle several years ago and every year it gets more full of blooms - with minimal care on our part.

We planted this coral honeysuckle several years ago and every year it gets more full of blooms – with minimal care on our part.

Omarpops

Even Omar wanted to get in on the act and popped up on the yard cart for a little morning sun and meditation.

 

8 thoughts on “Little square pops in my yard

    • I think bluebonnets (lupinus texensis) are a really wonderful shade of blue and cats have a way of getting your attention/and or inserting themselves very often. It’s a little hard to see but even his blue color pops a tiny bit.

I Value Your Feedback

